Byron, Fri.  + Sat.

09/13/2019
Lighthouse Sunset
Lighthouse Sunset

Kerry leaves today for the Gold Coast! So we said our goodbyes and then Axel came by to pick me up and we proceeded to drive 25 minutes to the Mullumbimby Farmers Market. This market was a bit bigger than Byron's and has three musicians playing. We got a smoothie and sat in the grass, listening to the tunes and conversing about Vipassana meditation. We met the people who run the market, as Axel is super interested in connecting the Organic Market in Cabo to the markets here in Byron and such! And then we took off to have some lunch once again at Bagus! Carla was there, along with Milo, Jana, and Brian. We had some food and then said our goodbyes, as Carla and Milo are headed South. Hard goodbyes but it's all a process of detachment, and I'm accepting the beauty in that more and more with each passing day. Nothing is permanent, nothing can last forever.

I went back to the hostel, ran down to the beach for a swim and FYI, most hostels do towel rentals, so no need to use your shower towel like I have been for the last three weeks, silly me! I did some writing for a bit before Rony and I headed to the Lighthouse in town to see the sunset. We parked his car and did a bit of walking up to the Lighthouse, and saw a big python snake crossing one tree to another! Was pretty awesome, though I did get the chills down my spine. Once up at the Lighthouse, we saw a wallaby, dolphins, and whales all while the sun was setting and the moon rising. Endless beauty! We drove back to town, I bought some hummus, sat outside the grocery listening to some live music, then headed back to the hostel for BBQ night. I made myself a salad since I couldn't eat much BBQ, but it was nice the hostel does things like this so that everyone gets together. Wake Up Hostel has been my favorite because the people here are incredible! All young, social, on their working visas, and enjoying the Byron life.

Axel came by the hostel and we headed to town to The Railway Bar to listen to some live music. The band was so funky and we boogied our bums off! Jana and Brian joined up with us as well. The music ended at 10 PM, so we proceeded into town, walking the streets and listening to all the musicians busking. There was a dude, Mojo Jacket, who was playing incredible tunes. From Fleetwood Mac to Counting Crows, this dude played it all, and the boogie began again! Rony ran into us and invited us to join him at a bar, but I preferred street side tunes since I can dance without my shoes! And then we stumbled into a 24 hour pie shop and I enjoyed a delicious vegan brownie. Jana, bless her soul, just decided to squat down into a yogi squat so I joined her. And next thing ya know, a Aussie chick from Melbourne, Dimity, joined us out of nowhere! I fricken love Aussies! She hung out with us for the remainder of the night, our little love fairy. We continued listening to street music and eventually made our way back to the hostel once we got all the moving and grooving out of us.

RONY!
RONY!
Python
Python
Lighthouse
Lighthouse

09/14/19

Axel and I each ordered the lentil dahl soup, which was absolutely divine, and we also split a vegan bento box. This came with a steamed bun (Gua Bao), edamame, dumplings, tofu bites, and fermented cabbage. This is probably one of my top 3 meals in Aus, I loved every bite! And I felt so good, after which is crucial. We went to the hostel, hung around a bit there before meeting up with Axel's friend, Matt, and Matt's friend, Matt (HA), for dinner at Asia Joe's. So much good food here in Australia, full of vegan options and all super nourishing for the body. 

After dinner, we headed to the Beach Hotel for some boogie and grooving. We ran into my friend Rony and Dimity also joined us! Pretty chill night overall, Axel and Matt headed back home, Rony and I stopped for a street hot dog, mine was tofu teriyaki! We also stopped for a pie at the 24 hour shop HA! I had some of a lentil curry pie, and then with an extremely full belly and happy heart, Rony and I walked back to the hostel. 

Before going to bed, we popped over to the beach where some of our mates were having a bonfire. We chilled for 30 minutes, gazing up at the beautiful full moon, and then called it a night. I am falling more in love with myself with each passing day. I am truly my own best friend, and I find that pretty radical. CHEERS!

PS. A lot of hostels in Australia give a discount if you download the hostel Australia app, and all you have to do is show it to them for the discount!

PPS. I had a crazy dream that me and my friend, Iker, were in India at the Taj Mahal and there was a party going on that Iker walked right into and began eating with everyone. HA! I woke up laughing, yet again. I think I'm excited for my future excursion!

Foxy Lu's
Foxy Lu's
Asia Joe's
Asia Joe's
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started