Byron To Surfers Paradise

09/15/2019
JANA
JANA

Easy morning wake up, casual stroll into the kitchen for some papaya and porridge, booked a hostel for my next country, and then headed down to the beach to hang with Jana, Brian, and some others. Paul and Lucas joined me as well. I have been dying to surf here in Byron Bay but there haven't been many waves, so I accepted that today I would get on a paddle board instead, until I arrived at the beach and saw the baby waves. I started dancing and cheering and making such a scene with my excitement woohoo! I ran right into the ocean and the water welcomed me with its clarity and warmth. Paul and I took the boards out that we rented from the hostel. And I didn't even need my wet shirt because the water was so nice without! Played with the waves for about 45 minutes, catching mostly the white wash, but still all the fun. I was laughing, chanting, swimming, and as happy as a little mermaid gypsy could be.

Finished up, road a wave in on my belly, and then proceeded to do some yoga on the beach, inversions and salutations with my mates. It was an absolute blast playing in the sand, racing to the sea, and then girl talk followed once all the guys left. Jana, Charlie, and I chatted all things from relationships to hormones and everything in between. A German, Norwegian, and American all bonding thru open and epic communication, that's what I'm talking about. I couldn't have imagined a better Sunday afternoon.

Back at the hostel, I sat down with my pen in hand and did some journaling. Spent a couple hours sitting outside, reflecting and occasionally chatting with some mates. Axel popped over for a hug and a goodbye because he leaves in the morning for Bali. It was incredible connecting with him here. Afterwards, I made a salad for dinner and sat to eat with all my best mates here. Jana, Brian, Laurens and I headed into town on the shuttle to grab some gelato. I enjoyed a scoop of soy hazelnut and coconut sorbet, and we walked the streets and listened to the music while nibbling away. We all took the shuttle back to the hostel and then Rony joined us for an evening stroll. Brian directed us to a lookout point where we viewed the luminous moon all together.

Once back at the hostel, Jana and I shared some deep and raw conversation and then decided it was time to be social, so we took the latest shuttle into town. The shuttle was packed with heaps of UK peeps, and it was like a full on party bus. The music blaring, the inner flights flashing like a stone, and everyones heads dancing and arms raised. Got dropped off at the Beach Hotel, where security looked at me and said "you again" with a smile, HA! Jana and I danced our bums off, and then we all migrated to the Bolt Hole. When we left, security thanked me for keeping my shoes on tonight, LOL!

I was going to call it a night and head home, but then Josh asked if anyone wanted a mezcal and my mouth began watering. I haven't had mezcal once since being in Aus, so I was way too excited at that point to leave. I had heaps of people tonight tell me they can smell my hippie essential oils; I must have rubbed extra patchouli on tonight without realizing! Did some sipping, a little dancing, and then eventually headed back to the hostel, walking over the train tracks and onto the beach. I had told myself that at some point I would skinny dip while in Australia, and what better time to do it then when no one is at the beach during the night. So I stripped my clothes off and ran straight to the sea, diving head first into the cool water. It was so chilly, and I was a bit terrified of sea life at this hour, but wow was it totally worth it! Showed up at the hostel, took a hot 3AM shower, and headed to bed.

Belongil Beach
Belongil Beach
Only In Byron
Only In Byron
Orgasmic Falafal
Orgasmic Falafal

09/16/19

Jana woke me at 8:45 for 9AM yoga at the hostel. Wow, class was amazing! So grateful for Jana and for the beautiful yoga shala at Wake Up Hostel. After, I took my shower, ate my papaya and porridge, threw a load of laundry in with Jana, and began packing my bag. After my fresh shower, I ran down to the sea for a swim, because why wouldn't I want salt in my hair and sand in my toes? My intention for today was to get a tattoo, one that I have had in mind for the whole month of traveling, one that is very relatable to my life and to Byron itself. So Jana and I caught the shuttle to town, walked to Temple Hill Tattoo, and chatted with the artist, Mallory. Unfortunately, her advice was to not get the tattoo because of my future travel plans and the simple fact that I will not have access to clean water for many weeks. Even a piercing would be risky she said. So, I left, a little bummed but also appreciative for her honesty and knowing that nothing good needs to be forced.

And now with this extra time that I had, Jana and I headed to have some babaganoush and hummus for midday snack. We always have great conversations, so real, honest and raw. People have asked us how long we've been friends for, thinking that we've known each other awhile. In reality, I met her 3 days ago. Funny because people asked the same about Carla and I. Anyways, I enjoy being in Jana's company so much. We walked around town a bit, to the postoffice and then to some shops for me to buy some necessities for my next journey in the upcoming weeks. And then we caught the shuttle back to the hostel to get our laundry and for me to complete my packing. We visited with our friends, had a mini dance party outback, I said many goodbyes (honestly so hard this time), and Jana went back on the shuttle with me to town for me to catch my bus to Surfers Paradise in the Gold Coast. We had time for a coffee and pastry at Sunday Sustainable Bakery before my bus arrived. And I ended up taking a different bus than planned.

There is an express bus that runs from Byron Bay straight to Surfers Paradise for $30 AUD. I bought my ticket right there with the driver, put my bags in the car, and proceeded to give Jana the biggest hug. And then Charlie, another friends from the hostel, showed up! And then Dimity (my love fairy) walked by as well! It was like a little goodbye party outside the bus stop. And this is one of the many reasons why I sincerely love Byron. So much connectivity here and boundless love. I ran to the toilets once they left and discovered the public toilets that not only have automatic doors but they also speak to you! I was cracking up! It allows for 10 minutes of usage before the door opens back up, but of course you can exit sooner. It was a total trip! I loaded on the bus and off we went.

Looking out the window, my heart swelled with so much gratitude for my time in Byron and all the amazing connections it held for me. I knew I was saving the best for last, and I couldn't be more pleased that I gave myself a full week to settle in. Honestly, I probably would have just applied for my working visa and stayed for a year if I had my pup with me. But I am learning the beauty of detachment, and that all good things can have a beautifully ending if you simply accept the time if gives for what it is and nothing more. Let the good times roll, let the good times flow.

I arrived to Surfers Paradise to meet up with my friend, Max, and Kerry! The three of us sipped some wine on the balcony of the room and then headed to town for a beer. It was quiet in town since it's a Monday evening, but Aussie's always know how to start the party. We climbed on the playground and strolled into some shops, me still refusing to wear shoes! We got some goon and headed back to continue sipping. Max's friend, Sarah, joined us for some hangs and her and I had amazing chats on astrology, horoscopes, and the moon cycles. Meanwhile the moon was shining luminescent orange outside the window. We had our own little party, playing old tunes and dancing around before taking an evening stroll around town. We walked over the bridge to Chevron, a wealthier area of Surfers, and after about an hour, we walked back to the hotel.

I did so much silent reflection on this walk that when we arrived back, I couldn't help but write it down. Realizing that this is my last night in Australia, I noticed the transformation within me that occurred over these last 4 weeks. Even writing about it brings tears to my eyes, but they aren't tears of sadness. I can't exactly pinpoint at this moment what it is that I feel except for simple gratitude and an abundance of love for myself. I am so proud of my journey so far, of my faith in humanity and how far it's taken me, and for not losing hope or giving up in a time of heartbreak. My heart is fuller than ever, open and willing to touch the souls of others while processing the idea of detachment simultaneously. This rediscovery of my true self has happened so organically and naturally. I am thrilled to be headed onto my next adventure, one foot in front of the other, moving forward with an excitement and acceptance to continue on with faith in my soul, a pep in my step, and love in my heart.

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started